Powersellersunite Power Sellers Unite
Bringing Buyers and Sellers Together
 

is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal
Click here to go to the original topic

 
       Power Sellers Unite Forum Index -> Web Payment Services (WPS)
::  
Author Message
gooddealsbooks



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 1048

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:13 pm    Post subject: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

Is alertpay.com a scam is it cool anyone know???
Back to top  
elgato



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 17219
Location: Texas

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:29 pm    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

This company is based in Canada.

Read:
http://www.alertpay.com/SiteContactUs.aspx

AlertPay Inc
s 5200 De La Savane, Suite 220
Montreal, Quebec
Canada
H4P-2M8

Back to top  
lammergeiernet



Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 1007
Location: Canada

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:31 pm    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

There is NO REASON

To try any of the goofy and seedy online payment systems ,you want something that has a user base and a track record.

Moneybookers has established record , 3 million users
Googlecheckout is now on the scene
Xcoin has found its way to Overstock and OLA
Neteller is even bigger then Moneybookers
E-Gold has been around forever and over million users

Then there are a few online merchant services , and just getting a merchant account

There are a few regional and global exceptions (Certapay,Hyperwallet ,Xoom,Pay India,E Dinar,Propay) which are great if you have certain regional needs.

But when talking about the main US and Europe centric payment systems beyond Paypal , you had better be thinking along lines of a Googlecheckout , Moneybookers ,Xcoin or a merchant account

Because I've seen a horde or pretenders come and go and if you think Paypal sucks , try losing funds to a fly by night.
Back to top  
angelsolutions



Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 3289
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:13 am    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

I wouldn't go so far to call it a scam, goofy or seedy. But to spread out too thin and/or to enroll with smaller payment providers that might not be there "later" wouldn't be wise, IMHO.

I'm not an international seller (yet) so I defer to our respected friend lammergeiernet about the international payment solutions. For me, it will be Google checkout until something better comes along that I can ADD.

For auctions, I'll be using GC and adding Bidpay soon. I hope to encourage and entice buyers to use them more in the 3rd quarter (SELLING SEASON). By then, I should have them set up everywhere I want them.

Stay with the KNOWN vs the UNKNOWN for handling your $$. That's MHO.

sylvia
Back to top  
lammergeiernet



Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 1007
Location: Canada

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:21 am    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

Hehe thanks :oops:

Ja just because in Canada does not mean its better , as Montreal is the Delaware of Canada

I would advise you go with something bigger and more reputable , if you want a Canadian service I reccomend

1. Certapay , which you can likely get at Canadian branch in USA or border community

2. Hyperwallet which a USA can get cash but can't upload

Certapay is intimately linked with Canadian banking system as is Hyperwallet. These services are highly reputable.


If you want generic international
1. Moneybookers
2. Netteller
Are two of the best

E-Gold is complicated
Back to top  
FormPay



Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 18

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:37 am    Post subject:  

I did pay for an auction item via alertpay once. I receive the item pretty fast so as a buyer, i can vouch for them However i have never used them to accept any kind of payment so im not sure if the seller ever received the money or not.
Back to top  
LFRYARTGUY



Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 568
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:06 am    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

FormPay...
just a quick note...
I have had a "Novas" merchant acct for my main business, BBTEES INC. for over 10 yrs, when I saw your signature I decided to look over your info on your site...
I immediately noticed many mis-spellings on multiple pages, starting on the HOME page....which made me, unfortunately, not put faith in your services....
For me to put trust into a company or service to handle something that is as important as my money transactions and customer relations,...I would at least expect the site that you are presenting to the public would be looked over and corrected with the simple task of spell checking.

The mis-spellings may not seem like a Red Flag to everyone...
but it did to me.

Maybe I should have PM'd you on this...
but others might feel the way I do also, so that is why I posted it here.
-------------------------------------------
here are just a few of the mis-spellings -
- becoming / increase / equipment / ....these are on multiple pages....
Back to top  
FormPay



Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 18

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:41 am    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

LFRYARTGUY,
Your correct there were many misspellings on our site. We had our site made by a third party design company which just uploaded the site they made last night (and are still working on a few things). I have personally fixed the errors i found and let the company know not to upload any more content without spell checking first.

Thank you,
Steffan Perry
Back to top  
LFRYARTGUY



Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 568
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:53 am    Post subject: Re: is this website safe and for real if so bye paypal  

:shock: wow! you wrote-
Your rite there were many misspellings on our site.
--------------------

--------------------
thanks for going back & correcting the misspellings in your reply....
I was beginning to wonder if that "3rd party" was writing your posts also...
-----------
but....it still should be "you're"... :o
Back to top  
nopaypal



Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 2008

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:44 pm    Post subject:  

i've been using alertpay fer over a year now with no problem. it's set up just like paypal...altho the ID process is much more rigorous!
:o
Back to top  
 
       Power Sellers Unite Forum Index -> Web Payment Services (WPS)
Page 1 of 1




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group