| :: |
| Author |
Message |
dirty
Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:58 pm Post subject: Dirtyapple.com - BETA |
|
|
Dirty Apple
The only Apple Auction! - "Are You Dirty?"
Dirty Apple is in BETA release and is looking for sellers to list their products FREE of charge. When listing a product you can use Voucher Code DABETA and this will waive all fees associated with this listing. Additionally, after you create your account if you contact us and reference this forum we will verify you then set your account to preferred status. This gives you an additional 25% off all site fees for the life of your account. Our site fees are already set at an extremely low rate, but in an effort to ramp up we are waiving these fees during our BETA release.
Please read the about us below:
DirtyApple.com is your one stop shop for everything Apple. If you are looking to buy or sell used or new Apple products, you have found the perfect place. We are the "ONLY" exclusive apple products auction style site on the web. Here at DirtyApple.com, visitors can search, buy and sell anything from ipod's, iphone and accessories to Mac computers and software. Did we mention the Minimal Fees?
Literally, we have all of your Apples in one basket!!! Having prided ourselves on creating a great online shopping site with second to none customer care and, of course, incredible deals on Apple products, we hope you make yourself right at home. Now go on and get Dirty, our Apples are ripe for your pickin' !!! |
|
| Back to top |
|
mojavelyn
Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 8084
Location: Mojave Desert CA 120 miles from civilization
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I would change the name... or did you get permission from Apple to use it? Attempting to cash in a recognised product brand can get you sued big time. Trademark infringment. |
|
| Back to top |
|
mojavelyn
Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 8084
Location: Mojave Desert CA 120 miles from civilization
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And if its in BETA, why is it for sale already?
http://whois.domaintools.com/dirtyapple.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
dirty
Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mojavelyn wrote (View Post): › docWrite("quote")
And if its in BETA, why is it for sale already?
http://whois.domaintools.com/dirtyapple.com
Great question! Actually, this domain was bought at a premium price from that person. I'm not sure why it is still listed for sale. I can assure you it is not for sale. Hopefully, that is just a cached page.
Thanks,
Ashley |
|
| Back to top |
|
www_dr-accutron_com
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 506
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I doubt Apples trademark covers the name dirty apple. That would definitely be a stretch. They can't control every name with apple in it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
mojavelyn
Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 8084
Location: Mojave Desert CA 120 miles from civilization
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm... did you not know about ebay suing every site with the name BAY in it?
And Dirty Apple sells Apple products... so yeah... I think Apple would have something to say about it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
tymyoung
Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 548
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If it was selling apple juice, the site would be fine. With ebay, as long as you're not an auction site with "bay", you'll be fine. So in this case, I'd check with a lawyer first to be safe. Seriously, or else it might turn out to be 'slim pickings'.
It's a little buggy.. for example, I also went to the ABOUT US and received a SQL error. I exited, and tried again. This time, even worse:
Dirty Apple - SITE ACTIVATION
You will need to activate your license in order to be able to use PHP Pro Bid.
Please follow this [ link ] to login to the clients area of phpprobid.com
You will need to complete the following details on the SITE ACTIVATION page in order to get a valid license.
Please note that all requests are logged to prevent any abuse and we can disable your license at any time.
Users that abuse the licensing service by requesting keys for unlincesed sites will have their membership cancelled.
IMPORTANT: Each license key is only valid for one installation. |
|
| Back to top |
|
A1TickedOffMan
Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 346
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| lol now site is down for maintenance lol |
|
| Back to top |
|
www_dr-accutron_com
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 506
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Well I guess I stand corrected! |
|
| Back to top |
|
AtomicMall.com
Joined: 20 Jun 2008
Posts: 970
Location: Yakima, WA
|
| Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tymyoung wrote (View Post): › docWrite("quote")
It's a little buggy.. for example, I also went to the ABOUT US and received a SQL error.
Also the "register" link from the home page leads to a non-secure registration page: http://dirtyapple.com/register.php |
|
| Back to top |
|
dirty
Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
|
| Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry about the site problems yesterday. I guess that's why they call it BETA. We were in the process of upgrading things, and something went horribly wrong. Nonetheless, upgrade is now complete minus all of our FAQ data.
Please have a look at the site. Also, I saw the comment about the SSL issue. This is being resolved. Unfortunately, that is what caused our fits yesterday. Nonetheless, the SSL should be installed today.
Also, on the lawyer front. I actually did have communications with a lawyer regarding our Name Dirty Apple. We believe we are in the clear. Time will only tell if "other" may have a problem with it. Our attempt will be to build the "Dirty" Brand.
Anyway....Thanks for your comments and again my apologies about the site issues yesterday.
Thanks,
Ashley |
|
| Back to top |
|
DaLizardsLair
Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 4780
|
| Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Considering the fact that "other" got sued by
Apple records for the use of the name and lost, you actually have two apples to worry about. |
|
| Back to top |
|
dirty
Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
|
| Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:31 pm Post subject: Re: Dirtyapple.com - BETA |
|
|
Well, I do appreciate the concern regarding our site name. I could make a list of 20+ Apple related sites which use the Apple name or one of their other trademark names. These sites are successful and NOT affiliated with Apple. Now, we may or may not eventually get a cease and desist letter. The precedent has been set which has allowed "similar" titled site to use the trademark name in one sense or another. Also, may I add these sites are for profit sites.
We are in know way in competition with such company. We are in no way harming the brand or degrading the name.
I really was hoping to get feedback about our site in general, and not so much about our name. What are some of the features Power Sellers are looking for? What would make you want to list on Dirty Apple? BTW, besides the obvious which is traffic.
Thanks for your feedback!
Ashley |
|
| Back to top |
|
elgato
Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 17237
Location: Texas
|
| Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:12 pm Post subject: Re: Dirtyapple.com - BETA |
|
|
Are you restricting sellers to just Apple products, IE:
» Displays
» iPhone (3)
» iPod
» Mac
» Software (2)
» Storage
The site name doesn't bother me if just offering Apple products alone but does kind of limit the type & variety of items this site offers to the public IMHO. |
|
| Back to top |
|
dirty
Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
|
| Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great question! So those categories are the main categories. Under each of them is subcategories, and then subcategories.
The site is a niche site. But the site is not limited to just "Apple" branded products. For instance, let's say you have Generic chargers for the iphone, ipod, etc... you would want to list them under iphone->accessories->power & car accessories. So in essence the site is any Apple related product. So could be ihome, outerbox, etc...
As long as it works with or in-conjunction with an Apple products.
I hope that answers your question.
Let me know!
Thanks,
Ashley
elgato wrote (View Post): › docWrite("quote")
Are you restricting sellers to just Apple products, IE:
» Displays
» iPhone (3)
» iPod
» Mac
» Software (2)
» Storage
The site name doesn't bother me if just offering Apple products alone but does kind of limit the type & variety of items this site offers to the public IMHO.
elgato wrote (View Post): › docWrite("quote")
Are you restricting sellers to just Apple products, IE:
» Displays
» iPhone (3)
» iPod
» Mac
» Software (2)
» Storage
The site name doesn't bother me if just offering Apple products alone but does kind of limit the type & variety of items this site offers to the public IMHO.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
| |